The Finalists:
Singapore: 14 Magnetic Spring
Austria: 1 Electromagnetic cannon
Korea: 15 Paper anemometer
New Zealand: 2 Brilliant pattern

If you wonder why there are 4 teams in the final – the regulations state the following:

The three teams having the highest TSP in the Selective PFs participate in the Final. In case teams have equal TSP, their participation in the Final is decided by FW. If team(s) winning all their Selective PFs (FW=5) did not reach the Final by TSP, the best of them (determined by TSP) takes part in the final as fourth team.

Both New Zealand and Germany won all their PFs, but the team of New Zealand has the higher TSP.
TSP: The total sum of points (TSP) equals the sum of SP of the team in all Selective PFs.

The last IYPT final with four teams was in 1992.

update 6:10pm – added the problems the teams have choosen.

2 Responses to “Finalists”

  • The Website/Blog only explain who is presenting what problem. Can you explain who is doing what in the Final (i.e. who is opposing what, reviewing what, etc.) ?
    Thanks 🙂

  • Sure:
    The sequence is reporter-opponent-reviewer-observer
    So in Stage one the Problem is Magnetic Spring which is presented by Singapore, opposed by Austria and reviewed by Korea. NZ will only observe.

Comments are currently closed.